24th Annual Sara Hopkins Woodruff Spectrum Awards For Women

Benefits Greater Miami & The Keys Chapter of the American Red Cross

Charity & Social Events
Date Thursday, November 9, 2017 Organization American Red Cross Gr. Miami & The Keys Chapter Categories Charity & Social Events
Place Four Seasons Hotel Miami Address 1435 Brickell Avenue, Downtown Miami Website https://www.redcross.org/ Contact Email Susan@EventuresMiami.com

The Greater Miami & The Keys Chapter of the American Red Cross will host the 24th Annual Sara Hopkins Woodruff Spectrum Awards For Women. Chaired by Phyllis Oeters and co-chaired by Mona Adams and Nelly Farra, the awards will be celebrated during the Red Cross’ Centennial Year, and will recognize outstanding women whose efforts have made significant contributions to the quality of life in South Florida. This year’s Honorary Chair is Swanee DiMare, and the Philanthropic Chair is Trish Bell.

On Thursday, November 9, 2017, celebrated community leaders will gather at the Four Seasons Hotel Miami for the annual ceremony. The event will begin at 11 a.m. with a reception, silent auction and a special exhibit featuring a Lily Pulitzer Retrospective. The Retrospective will include vintage pieces and current Lily Pulitzer fashions, showing the evolution of the brand through the decades. There will be a pop-up shop with 10% of all proceeds going to the American Red Cross. At 12:30 p.m., honorees and guests will enjoy a luncheon and the awards presentation.

Phyllis Oeters, Chair

“It is with great pride that we honor the work of the selfless women in our community,” said Phillis Oeters, Spectrum Awards Committee Chair. “Their dedication to serving South Florida will have a lasting impact on the generations to come, and we are thankful for all that they do.”

“Spectrum” refers to women’s impact across the broad scope of community life as well as the diversity of cultures represented in the community. More than 400 people are expected to attend the awards ceremony, which will raise funds for the vital life-saving programs and services of the American Red Cross Greater Miami & The Keys Chapter. These leadership awards acknowledge the humanitarian principles of the American Red Cross: Humanity, Impartiality, Independence, Unity, Neutrality, and Voluntary Service.
The 2017 Award recipients are:

• Florida Blue Philanthropy Award – Ana VeigaMilton
• Trish and Dan Bell Chairmen’s Award – Lilliam Machado
• Cervera Real Estate, Inc. Ambassador Award – Michele Gillen
• Margarita and Rick Tonkinson Community Service Award – Constance Collins
• Bank of America Education Award – Linda Lecht
• Morrison, Brown, Argiz & Farra, LLP Empowerment Award – Patricia San Pedro
• Mercantil Commercebank Entrepreneurial Award – Carol Ann Taylor
• Baptist Health South Florida Healthcare Award – Joan Scheiner
• Norma Echarte & Associates Hospitality Award – Cindy Hutson
• Barbara Nelson Red Cross Service Award – Libby Witherspoon
• Swanee and Paul DiMare Youth Award – Carolina Carrera-Justiz

Committee members include: Phillis Oeters, chair; Mona Ignatz Adams, co-chair: Nelly Farra, co-chair; Jessi Berrin, Ileana Bravo, Elda Brouwer, C.L. Conroy, Gloria Danovitz, Pamela Garrison, Josie Goytisolo, Doreen Lima, Patricia Lubian, Emily Marquez-Dulin, Hilda S. Mitrani, Arely Ruiz, Penny Shaffer, Joanie Stringer, Kenia Tedesco, Marielena Villamil and Roz S. Zacks.

For more information, visit www.RedCross.org/Local/Florida/South-Florida/Local-Chapters/Miami-The-Keys or visit us on twitter at @sflRedCross.

Sponsorship opportunities for the 24th Annual Spectrum Awards are available by contacting Susan@EventuresMiami.com. To buy tickets, visit www.RedCross.org/SpectrumMiami.
About American Red Cross
The American Red Cross shelters, feeds and provides emotional support for families affected by disasters; supplies about 40 percent of the nation’s blood; teaches skills that saves lives; provides international humanitarian aid; and supports military members and their families.

For more information, visit www.RedCross.org/SouthFlorida or call 305-644-1200.

Save the Date