Fashion and Preservation Came Together at Vizcaya’s

Joel Hoffman, Swanee DiMare

South Florida’s boldest fashion-forward supporters donned elegant headwear at Vizcaya Museum and Garden’s 8th Annual Preservation Luncheon, known informally as “The Hat Luncheon.” Three hundred guests enjoyed a beautiful, stylish day in the gardens including a luncheon in Vizcaya’s European-style grounds.

Arriving at the estate, guests were greeted with a cocktail reception in the gardens featuring Prosecco, sponsored by Dall’Armellia Vineyard and elegant models wearing the latest styles from fashion sponsor Neiman Marcus. The day’s festivities included a silent auction featuring an exquisite voyage for two provided by Azamara Club Cruises and many raffle items including an original watercolor from artist Lesli Ann Brown and handcrafted jewelry from artist Shiroiy Darius Cama. Jewelry sponsor Yvel Jewelry provided each guest with two elegant pieces of jewelry in addition to participating with a raffle item donation.

The luncheon was catered by Thierry Isambert Culinary and Event Design with a delightful menu that included chilled watermelon gazpacho, heirloom tomatoes, local corvina en papillote, key lime sable and chocolate hazelnut mousse. Dall’Armellina Vineyards provided Bruit Prosecco and Deering Wine provided Grenache Blanc during the meal.

New this year was a hat contest that gave guests the chance to shine. Guest judges included Lesli Ann Brown, fashion illustrator and former director at W, Vogue and Harper’s Bazaar; Elysze Held, fashion stylist, Style Out of the City; and Tara Solomon, founder and co-principal of TARA, Ink. Public Relations and Events. The judges selected three ladies for their outstanding choices in hats and fascinators. This year’s winners were Dana Shear for Best Hat; Marile Lopez for Most Elegant Ensemble; and Alexa Wolman for Most Avant Garde Look.

The luncheon raises funds toward the preservation of Vizcaya Museum and Gardens. Founded in 2009, the luncheon is a friend-raiser and fund-raiser to support the preservation of Vizcaya for the community and future generations to come.

The 8th Annual Vizcaya Preservation Luncheon’s Honorary Chair was Swanee DiMare and Co-Chairs are Eilah Campbell-Beavers, Sonia Gibson, Linda Levy Goldberg, Barbara Hevia, Daysi Johansson, Nicole Lozano, Christy Martin and Laura C. Munilla. Committee members were Lesli Ann Brown, Suzy Buckley Woodward, Ana Hernandez, Carol Iacovelli, Marile Lopez, Bronwyn Miller, Marisa Toccin, and Alexa Wolman.

This year’s Preservation Luncheon was sponsored by DiMare Fresh, Azamara Club Cruises, AAA Travel, Yvel, Neiman Marcus, The USA Bouquet, Dall’Armellina Vineyards and Deering Wine.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email