Sapphire Celebration

Benefits FIU Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine

Mark B. Rosenberg, FIU President; Kimberly J. Green, President of Green Family Foundation; Carlos Migoya, President and Chief of Jackson Health Systems; Soledad O’Brian, broadcast journalist; John A. Rock, Founding Dean and Senior Vice President for Health Affairs

Saturday, November 1, 2014, at 7 p.m.
Trump National Doral Miami
The Donald J. Trump Ballroom
4400 N.W. 87th Avenue, Doral, Miami
305-348-6265 (Darla Sechrest)

This elegant black-tie event will celebrate the FIU Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine’s innovative medical school mission. The evening will feature a luxury live auction, dinner, musical entertainment and dancing.

The Sapphire Celebration will also include presentations of the Dr. Herbert Wertheim Global Medical Leadership Award, the Ambassador Steven & Dorothea Green Community Leadership Award and the Benjamin Leon Founding Dean’s Award in recognition of individuals who have made remarkable contributions and been instrumental to the College’s growth and success in the medical field.

Robert & Fran Berrin, Soledad O’Brian, Debbie & Albert Tano

Co-Chairs for the 2014 Sapphire Celebration are Fran Berrin, Alyse Messinger, Kerry Perez and Debbie Tano.
Tickets are $400 per person or $4,000 for a table of ten. For more information, please contact Darla Sechrest at 305-348-6265 or by email at, or visit

About FIU Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine

Proceeds from the event will benefit the FIU Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, providing medical student scholarships and much needed support for 21st century medical education and training. Established in 2006 amid pressing community health concerns and a projected critical shortage of physicians nationally, the College has developed an innovative curriculum that integrates classroom and clinical training across disciplines with hands-on patient care in our most underserved communities. We have radically changed the medical education model to train the most versatile, culturally sensitive and highly qualified physicians for our community.

2013 Sapphire Celebration

To learn more, visit or call 305-348-6265.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email