27th Annual In the Company of Women Awards Ceremony

Hosted by the Miami-Dade Commission for Women, The Parks Foundation of Miami-Dade, and Miami-Dade Parks, Recreation & Open Spaces, this year’s Company of Women Awards Ceremony honored outstanding women leaders in 12 categories, including the Mayor’s Pioneer Award and the Community Spirit award, for their contributions to the Miami-Dade County community.

The honorees were:
Mayor’s Pioneer Award — Sheila Duffy-Lehrman, Tropic Survival Advertising & Marketing
Community Spirit – Cassandra Theramene, Scholars Today, Leaders of Tomorrow, Inc
Posthumous Award – Anne Mergen, Editorial Cartoonist
Arts & Entertainment – Kalyn Chapman James, Art Loft and the Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts
Business & Economics — Antoinette Patterson, One World Learning Center
Education & Research — Malou C. Harrison, Miami Dade College, North Campus
Government & Law (Elected) — Honorable Bertila Soto, Chief Judge, Eleventh Judicial Circuit Court
Government & Law (Non-Elected) — Iraida R. Mendez-Cartaya, Miami-Dade County Public Schools
Health & Human Services — Aileen M. Marty, M.D., FACP, Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Florida International University
Sports & Athletics — Dr. Janice Bell, St. Thomas University

Photos by Armando Raul Rodriguez, Jr.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email