Be A Kid Again

Mike and Chris Weinberg chair Blues Brothers-themed gala

Chris & Mike Weinberg

On Saturday, April 6th at 6:30 PM, the Miami Children’s Museum (MCM) will host its 2013 Be A Kid Again Gala. This year’s theme, the Blues Brothers’ “We’re on a Mission” will celebrate exceptional educational programming and showcase a live auction hosted by Dave Barry and Paul Castronovo.

The event is chaired by Miami Beach natives, Mike and Chris Weinberg.

“We’ve been on the committee for several years and Debbie Spiegelman asked us to chair this year and we’re honored to do so,” said Chris.

The Weinbergs have known each other since grade school and began dating after college. Each of their three children attended MCM when they were younger, and Chris and Mike have a commitment to the museum even though their children are older.

“After understanding what the museum provides,” said Mike, a wealth advisor with UBS, “not just to the immediate local community, but what it provides to all areas of the community, including the underprivileged, we felt it was important to continue working with the museum to support their mission.”

The gala is sure to be an enjoyable evening. The night will kick off with a cocktail reception inside the Museum’s galleries which will be filled with an extensive silent auction, featuring a wine section with exclusive lots from all over the world.

The main events will be the energetic live auction featuring items that include a portrait by Romero Britto, an automotive lease from the Collection and Limited edition Girard-Perregaux, iconic FOReverglades luxury timepiece from their new Hawk collection, culminating with the spectacular performance by Jake and Elwood Blues Revue. Completing the dynamic Blues Brothers-themed extravaganza will be a taste tempting array of treats that bring to life all the iconic Chicagoland locations from the movie.

Of course, the event would never happen without the hard work of the committee, and Mike was quick to complement their hard work.

“They are rock stars,” he said. “Chris and I are honored to work with such dedicated people, all of whom understand the importance of early childhood education.”

This year’s committee includes: Lisa Akin, Michele Berlowitz, Jeff Berkowitz, Yolanda Berkowitz, Angela Birdman, Tina Carlo, Alexis Cooper, Marianne Devine, Rebecca Dreyfuss, Lara Gallardo, Leslie Golan, Michael Grieco, Dana Hagendorf, Shannon Hori, Donald Jones, Karla Jones Stone, DJ Kerr, Erika Koopman, Rahul Kothari, Susan Lampen, Gisela Lowenstein, Pam Luria, Jackie Malamed, Joanne Messing, Janet Moreira Gamble, Corey Narson, Melissa Netkin, Adrienne Pardo, Beverly Parker, Wayne Pathman, Gloria Porcella, Lori Reimer, Manny Rodriguez, Lara Rosenbaum, Howard Rosenbaum, Mark Rousso, Katherine Rubino, Millinda Sinnreich, Mijanou Spurdle, Sarah Sullivan, Beth Tasca and Peter White.

Tickets are $500, and sponsorship opportunities are available. Contact Sarah Smith at 305-373-5437, Ext. 142, or for more information.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email