Florida Memorial University’s “A Night to Remember”

Fourth Annual President’s Scholarship Gala

Orange and blue themed cocktails are served in celebration of school colors and school spirit
Jazz vocalist extraordinaire Nicole Henry and her band took center stage at The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa for “A Night to Remember,” Florida Memorial University’s Fourth Annual President’s Scholarship Gala. Under the leadership of interim president Sandra T. Thompson, Ph.D., the jazzy occasion lauded corporations and community leaders for their support of the institution while celebrating the academic accomplishments of its students. Proceeds raised during the Gala supported the Florida Memorial University Student Scholarship Fund.

The Gala Committee hosted a beachfront VIP Reception for corporate sponsors against a sunset backdrop and musical landscape provided by the Florida Memorial Steel Pan Band. In celebration of school spirit, complimentary orange and blue cocktails were served to guests along with an assortment of appetizers. Mr. Al Reynolds, Director of Major Gifts, thanked the sponsors for their generous donations before guests were ushered to the stately Diplomat Ballroom for the dinner program.

Florida Memorial’s famed Steel Pan Band sets the mood with Caribbean-themed music
WPLG Local 10 news reporter Constance Jones emceed the gala as a video presentation launched testimonials detailing students’ life-changing experiences at Florida Memorial University. At the conclusion of the video, the Honorable Carrie P. Meek presented an award in her namesake to Mr. Stephen H. Greenberg, founder and CEO of Stephen Greenberg & Associates. Emmy Award-winning journalist Calvin Hughes, news anchor for WPLG Local 10, received the Volunteer Award for hosting various events on the University campus throughout the years. After dinner was served and capped off by decadent mango cheesecake desserts displaying the University logo, the Alumni of the Year Award was presented to Ms. Estelle Taylor, a 1964 graduate of Florida Memorial, and the coveted Corporate Partner Award was presented to AT&T – Florida and accepted by Dr. Wilbert “Tee” Holloway. The featured Community Leadership Award was presented to Sheryl Lee Ralph, celebrated actress, singer, stage performer, and founder of The DIVA Foundation. Though Ms. Ralph was unable to accept her award in person, she provided a video presentation explaining the importance of academic excellence.

Honoree Stephen H. Greenberg, founder and CEO of Stephen Greenberg & Associates (center) with guests
Florida Memorial University is pleased to announce the arrival of Dr. Henry Lewis III, the institution’s new president who arrived with a ten-year vision to lead the University “From Good to Great,” the recurring theme of his presidency. As the President’s Scholarship Gala Committee gears up to plan the fifth installment of its annual gala fundraiser, let’s recall the good times and memories from last year’s special occasion.

Florida Memorial University’s 130th Anniversary Gala Committee was chaired by Joyce R. Forchion, Director of Public Affairs, and co-chaired by Regine Beauboeuf, Director of Annual Giving. “A Night to Remember” was a resounding success and fulfilled Florida Memorial University’s fundraising goal for student scholarships.

The President’s Scholarship Gala Committee acknowledges Founder Sponsor Burger King Corporation for their $15,000 contribution and the following sponsors for their invaluable support: Platinum Sponsors ($10,000) – Aramark Management Services and D. Stephenson Construction, Inc.; Gold Sponsor ($7,500) – AT & T – Florida; Silver Sponsors ($5,000) – AlliedBarton Security Services, LLC, Geico, Pepsi Bottling Group, Ryder Charitable Foundation, Siemens Building Technologies, Inc., South Florida Times; Table Sponsors ($2,500) – Baptist Health South Florida, Florida Memorial University National Alumni Association, Florida Power & Light, McKinley Financial Services, Inc., Miami-Dade County Public Schools, Northern Trust, Sodexo, Stephen Greenberg & Associates, UPS and Weiss Serota Helfman Pastoriza Cole & Boniske, P.L.

Dr. Sandra T. Thompson, Al Reynolds, and Nicole Henry
Within the next year, Dr. Henry Lewis III will be inaugurated as the University’s new president, and the fifth anniversary President’s Scholarship Gala is forthcoming. For more information about Florida Memorial University or the Student Scholarship Fund, please call the Office of Public Affairs at 305-626-3624 or www.fmuniv.edu.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email