Miami chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals

Recognizes & Celebrates Local Philanthropists

Sallie Byrd AFP Miami president presents R. Kirk Landon Lifetime Achievement Award

The 2011 National Philanthropy Day Awards Luncheon, sponsored by the Miami chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals in partnership with The Miami Foundation, the Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce, and the Partnership for Philanthropic Planning, marks the chapter’s 26th Anniversary honoring local philanthropists and volunteers. Over 500 guests gathered to recognize and celebrate the Who’s Who of the philanthropic community. The event was held at Jungle Island with special guest emcee Cynthia Demos, CBS 4 Anchor.

This year’s honorees were: R. Kirk Landon, AFP Lifetime Achievement Award; Ronald Esserman, Outstanding Philanthropist; Publix Super Markets, Inc., Julia Tuttle Award – For Community Involvement & Corporate Citizenship; Stanley G. Tate, James W. McLamore Outstanding Volunteer Award; The Shepard Broad Foundation, Outstanding Grantmaker.

“National Philanthropy Day has evolved into the premiere annual event for nonprofit organizations and the community at-large to recognize philanthropists, volunteers, corporations and foundations. These stewards generously impact lives across our great city and our nation,” noted Sallie Byrd, President of AFP Miami.

The Association of Fundraising Professionals International (AFPI) represents more than 28,000 members in 185 chapters throughout the world, working to advance philanthropy through advocacy, research, education, and certification programs. The Association fosters development and growth of fundraising professionals and promotes high ethical standards in the fundraising professional. Visit AFP Miami at for information, advice, and/or referral services regarding the nonprofit sector in South Florida.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email