National Philanthropy Day Honors Community Leaders

National Philanthropy Day was started by the Miami Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals in 1985. The event, which honors the local philanthropic community, is now celebrated around the world.

National Philathropy Day 2015, presented by Florida International University and being held on November 12 at Jungle Island, will mark AFP Miami’s 30th anniversary of the popular event. Partnering with the Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce, The Miami Foundation and the Partnership for Philanthropic Planning, AFP Miami will recognize and honor the contributions local individuals and businesses have made to our community and to our world.

This year’s honorees are:

Dr. & Mrs. Herbert Wertheim Outstanding Philanthropists








Lewis ā€œSā€ Mike Eidson James W. McLamore Outstanding Volunteer Award
Ann Machado James W. McLamore Outstanding Volunteer Award










United Way of Miami-Dade Outstanding Grant Maker Award
Miami Marlins The Julia Tuttle Award for Community Involvement and Corporate Citizenship







And two very special awards will be presented to commemorate AFP Miami’s milestone event:

Alberto Ibarguen of the Knight Foundation Champion of Philanthropy Award
Paul and Swanee DiMare Lifetime Achievement Award










To learn more about the luncheon, email or visit

Print Friendly, PDF & Email