Dancing with the Stars

Benefits Alzheimer's Care Committee/NOTABLES

Gala Honoree Cyrus Jollivette of BlueCross BlueShield of Florida, President Mickey Dworkin, Founder and Chairman Bella Goldstein, Gala Chair Honorable Norman Edelcup

Saturday, January 12th, 2008
Miami Beach Resort & Spa Starlight Roof
4833 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach
305-762-1371 for NOTABLE membership information

Last year’s Crystal Ball, the NOTABLES black tie gala, honored BlueCross BlueShield of Florida, and was held at the Miami Beach Resort & Spa. NOTABLES president Mickey Dworkin presented Cyrus M. Jollivette, Senior Vice President of Public Affairs of BlueCross BlueShield of Florida, with special recognition. He surprised guests by announcing a very generous gift to the NOTABLES that will endow a state-of-the-art Alzheimer’s program at Douglas Gardens.

The Honorable Norman Edelcup, Mayor of Sunny Isles Beach, served as Gala Chairman. Bella Goldstein, founder and chairman of the NOTABLES, co-hosted the evening with guest emcee Dr. Sean Keniff, Health Specialist WFOR-TV. The gala cocktail party was underwritten by Isabel May, and Martha Crown underwrote the gala dinner. The fabulous Tova Leidesdorf chaired the gala underwriting committee.

Louis C. Fischer Award: Recipients Honorable Malcolm & Doree Fromberg w/Jessica & Lauren Fischer, daughters of the late Louis C. Fischer

Special awards of appreciation were presented to the Honorable Malcolm Fromberg and his wife Doree, Maria Michaels and her son Nick Studds in memory of Maria’s mother Frosene Sonderling, Stuart Geller and George Stein.

Guests enjoyed bidding on many interesting items at the silent auction during cocktail hour and enjoyed the lavish caviar bar donated by Marky’s Caviar. Tickets for the Mercedes-Benz of Miami Raffle were sold for the chance to win a two year lease on a new Mercedes Benz and other fabulous prizes.

The 2008 “Dancing with the Stars” black tie gala is sure to be an elegant and glamorous affair. This year’s honorees are Frances and Sam Gordon with Chairs Tracee and Adam Rosenfeld. The Lester Goldstein Award will be given to Melinda and Gideon Mayani, while the Louis C. Fischer Award will be presented to Muriel and Monroe Hattenbach. And the 2008 Forge Award is slated for Betty Brandt.

Representing Neiman Marcus Bal Harbour, sponsors of the Lester L. Goldstein Award: Lisa Molina, Vincent Olmo and Joni Sabo-Schmidt with award recipients Maria Michaels and Nick Studds. Award presented in loving memory of Frosene Sonderling.
NOTABLES Leadership: Cosmopolitan NOTABLES President Adam Rosenfeld, Broward Presidents Elaine & Neal Slansky, Aventura President Stuart Geller



Gala Cocktail Party Underwriter Isabel May
Gala Underwriting Chair Tova Leidesdorf
Gala Dinner Sponsor Martha Crown

About Alzheimer’s Care Committee/NOTABLES of Douglas Gardens

NOTABLES Vice Presidents: Hildine Potashnick and Ethel Roth

Since 1987, more than 1,000 caring philanthropists and committed corporations have assured that “until there is a cure, there is care,” with loving and stimulating day care services for Alzheimer’s victims and respite for their families.

Through special events and direct donations, the Alzheimer’s Care Committee/NOTABLES supports the Louis C. Fisher Alzheimer’s Adult Day Care Center and other Alzheimer’s care programs of Douglas Gardens. The Alzheimer’s Care Committee/NOTABLES helps subsidize the cost of care for a diverse, multi-cultural, multi-ethnic, non-sectarian population.

For more information on becoming a member of this vital and socially active organization,
PLEASE CALL Development Officer Ricki Diamond at 305-751-8626, or 954-525-0955, extension 2295, or email to rdiamond@mjhha.org

Honorable Seymour Roth, Honorable Linda Zilber, Sunny Isles Beach Mayor Norman Edelcup, Aventura Commissioners Billy Joel and Bob Diamond, and Sunny Isles Beach Vice Mayor Lewis Thaler

Return to the SocialMiami Miami Charity Gala Guide

Print Friendly, PDF & Email