Spectrum Awards

American Red Cross Honors 13 Women

Join the American Red Cross of Greater Miami & The Keys as they honor 13 outstanding women at the 17th Annual Sara Hopkins Woodruff Spectrum Awards for Women Luncheon. By working diligently to improve their community and living up to the founding principles of the Red Cross – Humanity, Impartiality, Independence, Unity, Neutrality, Universality and Voluntary Service – these women have truly earned this prestigious award. Swanee DiMare is the honorary chair of the Spectrum Awards. The luncheon is February 9 at the Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove. To purchase tickets, contact Kenia Tedesco at 305-728-2512.


PICTURED: Andrea Bennett, Brittany Campbell, Patricia Wallace, Regina Frazier, Phillis Oeters, Michele Maas, Cindy Kendall, Rachel Blechman, Maria Llerena and Marilyn Volker. Not shown: Ana Moran Varela, Teresa Valdes-Fauli Weintraub, Carmen Mendez Mackesy, Rosy Cancela.

2010 Sara Hopkins Woodruff Spectrum Awards for Women honorees:

Patricia Wallace – BlueCross BlueShield of Florida Philanthropy Award
Mrs. Wallace has dedicated her time to countless charitable and community activities. For more than 14 years, she served on the board of the Salvation Army helping to develop and raise funds for the Alcoholic Rehabilitation Program and Children’s Program. She also served on the boards of the Miami-Dade County Art in Public Places Trust, the Jackson Memorial Foundation and the Humane Society of Greater Miami.

Ana Moran Varela – Rosalind Ludwig Chairmen’s Award
Ana Moran Varela helps run a leading flower importing, growing and distributing company, but has always found time to give back to her community. She serves on the board of the Young Patronesses of the Opera. The Vizcayans, the American Red Cross Greater Miami & The Keys Gala Committee, the Voices for Children Gala Committee and the Florida Grand Opera Bal à Paris Gala Committee.

Teresa Valdes-Fauli Weintraub – Cervera Real Estate Ambassador Award
Teresa Valdes-Fauli Weintraub has built a strong career as a tax attorney, chief development officer for the University of Miami and most recently as President and CEO of Fiduciary Trust International of the South, a trust and investment management company.

Regina Jollivette Frazier – Mercedes-Benz of Coral Gables/Mercedes-Benz of Cutler Bay Community Service Award
Regina Jollivette Frasier recently retired after dedicating her adult life to helping others as director of Pharmacy for the University of Miami Hospital and Clinics, and the Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center. Ms. Frazier, who has also been recognized by Ebony magazine as one of the 100 Most Influential Black Americans, is the immediate past president of the Girl Scout Council of Tropical Florida, Inc., which serves 16,000 girls and 5,000 adult volunteers in Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties.

Rachel Blechman – Bank of America Cultural Award
Rachel Blechman, a retired partner in the law firm Holland & Knight LLP, is recognized for her work as chair of the Florida Humanities Council, immediate past president of the Funding Arts Network and member of the Miami-Dade Taskforce on the Visual and Performing Arts.

Maria E. Llerena – J. N. McArthur Foundation Education Award
Maria E. Llerena, a lifelong educator, came from Cuba at the age of eight and has worked for decades inspiring young students as a teacher, principal and school district administrator.

Carmen Mendez Mackesy – Morrison, Brown, Argiz & Farra Entrepreneurial Award
Carmen Mendez Mackesy is the owner and operator of Southern Blossoms, a leader in sustainable landscape design in South Florida that has shown the community how to create and care for their own hometown gardens.

Dr. Marilyn Volker – Baptist Health South Florida Healthcare Award
Dr. Marilyn Volker is a university professor, a Diplomat of the American Board of Sexology and an associate fellow of the American Academy of Clinical Sexologists and trains counselors to become sex therapists in Florida.

Rosy Cancela – The Ethel and W. George Kennedy Family Foundation Volunteerism Award
Rosy Cancela is honored for her longtime dedication to the Jackson Memorial Medical Center. Ms. Cancela helped launch the Guardian Angels, which was dedicated to the launch of the Holtz Childrens’ Hospital and the International Kids Fund to facilitate the access to lifesaving medical care to children in need.

Cindy Kendall and Michelle Maas – Barbara Nelson Red Cross Service Award
Cindy Kendall and Michele Maas are longtime American Red Cross volunteers who have chaired the South Dade Ball Committee since its inception more than 25 years ago. The South Dade Ball raises funds to support the lifesaving programs of the American Red Cross that teach South Miami-Dade residents important skills like CPR and provides emergency assistance to families that experience a disaster.

Andrea Esther Bennett and Brittany Campbell – Swanee and Paul DiMare Youth Award
Andrea Esther Bennett is one of two young ladies being recognized for her services as president of her local Best Buddies chapter. Ms. Bennett not only pushes herself to excel in school, but to succeed in her extracurricular activities. Brittany Campbell is recognized for her commitment to the betterment of childrens’ lives. She worked with the Kids2Kids organization to put on a Broadway-style show which raised money for the group which sends children who use ventilators to camp. She has also worked with Twenty Little Working Girls, a community service club.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email