Plaza Health Network’s Women of Distinction and Caring Luncheon

For the 10th anniversary, over 400 community leaders gathered to honor and celebrate eight exceptional women in our community.

Norma Jean Abraham & Ana VeigaMilton

Over 400 community leaders gathered at the Downtown Hilton to honor and celebrate the 8 exceptional women in our community who have made a significant impact on the lives of others locally and globally through their leadership, volunteerism, professional work and philanthropy.

Chaired by Norma Jean Abraham and Ana Veiga-Milton, the day included a champagne reception and lavish silent auction with boutique shopping, followed by the lunch and honoree celebration. The 2019 Honorees were: Hon. Amy Dean, Lilliam Machado, Dr. Barbara Montford, MD., Dr. Margaret Pericak- Vance, Ph.D., Barbara Reese, Silvia Elena Rios, Michele Ryder, MSN, RN, MSHSA, CENP, and Patricia Whitely, Ed.D. This year’s BESSIE Award was presented to Marisa Galbut and Elana Galbut who represented 15 great grandchildren of Hebrew Homes Founder Bessie Galbut and her daughter-in-law, Bessie D. Galbut.

Proceeds support the Plaza Health Network Foundation’s patient focused innovative programs and services for patients of Plaza Health Network that go above and beyond what is covered by Medicare, Medicaid and Insurances. Foundation funding priorities include the Music & Memory program for patients with Alzheimer’s and diminished cognitive skills, cultural arts events, and supporting uncompensated care for patients not covered by insurances.

Joanna Barusch, Pam Garrison, Norma Jean Abraham, Ilene Zweig; Executive Director
Ronald S. Lowy; Chairman of the Board, Marisa & Elana Galbut, Elaine Bloom; President and CEO
Top row: Chary Toro, Isabel Fine, Madison Gardner, Lourdes Martinez Katherine Davis, Liz Newman. Bottom row: Lourdes Araujo, Cathy Jones, Sonia Gibson, Miriam Salazar, Madeleine Larsson.
Dr. Barbara Montford and guests
Aida Levitan and representatives from U.S. Century Bank
Margaret Pericak-Vance and guests
Remedios Diaz Oliver, Ana Obregon, Gus Machado, Becky Delaster, Millie Delgado and Lilliam Machado
Ethel Philip, Metline Barton, Thelma Gibson, Lynette Janac.
Dr. Ora Strickland and guests from FIU’s Nicole Wertheim College of Nursing & Health Sciences
Robin Jacobs and Bernice Schwartz
YPO Members
Print Friendly, PDF & Email